Lawyers Representing Repeat DWI Offenders

If you were convicted of DWI in the past, you may not have faced a significant punishment. If you have been arrested for a second, third or fourth DWI, however, the stakes are much higher. You face the prospect of severe penalties, including the real possibility of jail time. Now more than ever, you need strong and effective representation.

At Hale Blau & Saad in Raleigh, we vigorously defend people who are facing second, third and fourth DWIs. Our attorneys are experienced and highly knowledgeable in the various defenses to DWI charges. We will work tenaciously to protect your rights and preserve your freedom.

Having personally handled thousands of DWI cases, attorney Steven Saad knows what is at stake in your case. He a record of success defending people charged with DWI in North Carolina, and will vigorously defend you.

Call us today at 919-805-3364 for a free consultation.

Experience Can Make A Difference

Steven Saad, the leader of our DWI defense practice, has personally handled thousands of DWI cases, as a prosecutor and defense attorney. During that time, Steven has handled cases involving nearly every aspect of DWI law. He is skilled at identifying potential weaknesses in prosecutors' cases — and in using that knowledge on behalf of his clients.

While the possible defense strategies in a second or third DWI case are the same as for a first offense, how that strategy is conducted can make a difference. Steven Saad and the team at Hale Blau & Saad will vigorously represent you at every stage of the legal process.

Potential Penalties For Repeat DWI Offenders

North Carolina law defines six levels of DWI offenses, plus a felony offense for habitual DWI offenders. Level A1, Level I, Level II and felony habitual DWI charges apply to repeat offenders, and carry the most severe penalties, as follows:

Level A1 – Jail sentence of 120 days to three years, a fine of up to $10,000, and a possible permanent suspension of your driver's license.

Level I — Jail sentence of 30 days to one year, a fine of up to $4,000, and a possible four-year suspension of your driver's license.

Level II — Jail sentence of seven days to one year, a fine of up to $2,000, and a possible four-year suspension of your driver's license.

Habitual DWI — A felony DWI crime for drivers who have had three DWI convictions within the last ten years. Punishable by a mandatory jail sentence of at least one year in prison.

A person can be charged with a Level A1, Level I, or Level II offense when:

  • The driver had one or more DWI convictions within the last seven years.
  • The driver was arrested for DWI while still serving a sentence for a prior DWI.
  • There was a child under the age of 18 in the car.
  • The driver was arrested while his or her license was under suspension for impaired driving.

The impaired driver injured someone in an accident.

Free Consultation — Talk With A Lawyer Today

To arrange for a free initial consultation about a multiple DUI case, call Hale Blau & Saad at 919-805-3364 or send us an email.